ArabicChinese (Simplified)EnglishFrenchItalianRussianSpanishSwahili

Tag Archive: Changemakers

  1. Thank you! Changemakers 2016 Honors Dr. Linda Lane

    Leave a Comment


    A huge thank you goes to all of the parents, donors, students, and participants at this year’s Changemakers Celebration! Thanks to your contributions, we were able to raise $50,000 to support our programs. A special thanks to our sponsors:

    Hosts The Pittsburgh Promise Weiss Burkardt Kramer, LLC Law Offices of
    Wayne D. Gerhold
    Rita M. McGinley Foundation The David S. and Karen A. Shapira
    Super Bakery University of Pittsburgh Alan Lesgold
    Allies for Children
    Poise Foundation
    Propel Foundation
    Valedictorian Letterman The Birmingham Foundation Susan and David Brownlee
    Blue Cross
    Blue Shield
    KPMG, LLC Campaign for Quality Schools Pittsburgh United Way of Southwestern PA
    Honor Roll McAuley Ministries Foundation The Greater Pittsburgh Chamber of Commerce University of Pittsburgh Office of Child Development
    BNY Mellon The Grable Foundation Howard Hanna Urban League of Greater Pittsburgh

    Your support allows A+ Schools to recognize the tireless efforts of educators, parents, students, and community volunteers working to make our public schools great.    We had an amazing celebration of Dr. Lane with over 200 advocates for high quality public education in attendance. With your help, we will continue the important work to ensure high quality public education for each and every one of the City’s 25,000 public school students.

    2016 Changemaker Honorees

    Superintendent Leadership Award

    Dr. Linda Lane

    TeenBloc Graduates

    Giordan Dixon – Pittsburgh Westinghouse (attending CCAC)
    Indyha Fielder – City Charter High School (attending Penn State University)
    Alleah Rose – Pittsburgh Obama (attending Point Park University)
    Shania Brimage – City Charter High School (attending Indiana University of Pennsylvania)

    Ella Baker Leadership Awards

    Sacoyia Reed
    Cynthia-Grace Devine-Kepner

    Educational Leadership Awards (nominated by TeenBloc)

    Ms. Sharon Brentley – Pittsburgh Perry
    Ms. Stephanie Byars – Pittsburgh Perry
    Mr. Douglas Mavracic – Pittsburgh Perry
    Mr. Sean Means – Pittsburgh Westinghouse
    Ms. Alexa Tokarski – Pittsburgh Brashear

    Outstanding Volunteer Awards

    Patricia Seligman – Board Watch
    Erin Stiling Sloan – Outstanding New Volunteer

    Thank you all!

    This slideshow requires JavaScript.