ArabicChinese (Simplified)EnglishFrenchItalianRussianSpanishSwahili

Stay Informed

Ready Freddy? Kindergarten Begins August 29, 2013

Leave a Comment

 

Guest blog post from Medina Jackson, Office of Child Development: 

THE FIRST DAY OF KINDERGARTEN FOR PITTSBURGH PUBLIC SCHOOLS IS THURSDAY, AUGUST 29, 2013

Going to kindergarten is a big change for you and your child and Ready Freddy has an opportunity for you to start off on the right foot. Join us for our summer Kindergarten Club for parents AND children in your community. It’s FREE, we will have food, and it’s tons of FUN! Parents and children love our program because children get to learn and experience what kindergarten is like, and parents and caregivers learn great ways to support your child in their learning, and how on-time daily kindergarten attendance leads to educational success now, and in the future!

The location, dates and times are all below. In order to enroll in K Club, your child only needs to be going to kindergarten (5 years old by September 30). Give me a call, and we’ll get you on our list, and all you have to do is show up ready to learn and have some fun!

If you still need to register for kindergarten, please do so as soon as possible, BEFORE the first day of school. It really helps schools plan for the number of kindergarten classrooms they need, so your child can have a smooth transition. To register, you need your child’s birth certificate, 2 proofs of address, and up to date immunization records. Call the school your child will be attending for kindergarten to see if they are open and if you can register there, otherwise, you must go to Pittsburgh’s Department of Education, at 341 South Bellefield Avenue in Oakland. The PPS Parent Hotline is 412-622-7920.

Look forward to speaking with you,

Medina Jackson
Community Outreach Coordinator
Ready Freddy: Pathways to Kindergarten Success
412-244-5019
www.readyfreddy.org


 

Hill District K Club, Weil School, 2250 Centre Avenue, Pgh., PA 15219

Time: 12-2pm
Monday July 8
Wednesday July 10
Monday July 15
Wednesday, July 17
Monday July 22
Wednesday July 24

North Side K Club, Pittsburgh Allegheny, 810 Arch Street, Pgh., PA 15212

Time: 12-2pm
Tuesday, July 9
Thursday, July 11
Tuesday, July 16
Thursday, July 18
Tuesday, July 23
Thursday, July25

Homewood, PAEYC Early Learning Hub, 7219 Kelly Street, Pgh., PA 15208

Time: 12-2pm
Monday July 8
Wednesday July 10
Monday July 15
Wednesday, July 17
Monday July 22
Wednesday July 24

South Side, Arlington School, 2429 Charcot Street, Pgh., Pa 15210

Time: 12-2pm
Tuesday, July 16
Thursday, July 18
Tuesday, July 23
Thursday, July 25
Tuesday, July 30
Thursday, August 1

West End, Sheraden Public Library, 720 Sherwood Avenue, Pgh., PA 15204

Time: 12-2pm
Monday, July 22
Wednesday, July 24
Friday, July 26
Monday, July 29
Wednesday, July 31
Friday, August 2